May 25th, 2015


一水四見 The same water may be viewed in four ways— devas see it as bejewelled land, men as water, hungry ghosts as pus and blood, fish as a place to live in.
Воду можно рассматривать четверояко: боги видят в ней мир,
украшенный драгоценностями, люди просто воду, для голодных духов вода гной и кровь, для рыб место обитания. 

Нечётное любят европейцы, чётное китайцы

Нечётное любят европейцы, чётное китайцы

В Европе три богатыря, три брата, семь невест, семь жён, девять жизней кошки.

На Дальнем Востоке чётное в чести:

一四天下 (A world of four great continents surrounding a Mt. Sumeru)

一境四心 (Four different ways of looking at the same thing.)

一篋四蛇 (Four snakes in one basket, i.e. the four passions in one body)

四諦 "four noble truths"

八天 The eight devalokas, i.e. four dhyāna devalokas of the region of form, and four arūpalokas; 四禪天 and 四空處.

八正道 (八正道分) Āryamārga. The eight right or correct ways, the "eightfold noble path" for the arhat to nirvāṇa; also styled 八道船, 八正門, 八由行, 八游行, 八聖道支, 八道行, 八直行, 八直道.

八波羅夷 or 八重罪 The eight pārājika, in relation to the sins of a nun; for the first four see 四波羅夷; (5) libidinous contact with a male; (6) any sort of improper association (leading to adultery); (7) concealing the misbehaviour (of an equal, or inferior); (8) improper dealings with a monk.

八無暇 The eight conditions of no leisure or time to hear a Buddha or his truth, idem 八難.

八無礙 The eight universalized powers of the六識 six senses, 意根 the mind and the 法界 dharmadhātu.

八諦 The eight truths, postulates, or judgments of the 法相 Dharmalakṣana school, i.e. four common or mundane, and four of higher meaning.

八部鬼衆 The eight groups of demon-followers of the four mahārājas, i.e. gandharvas, piśācas, kumbhāṇḍas, pretas, nāgas, pūtanas, yakṣas, and rākṣasas.

力無畏 (力無所畏) The is intp. as the ten powers of a Buddha, the 無所畏 are his four qualities of fearlessness.

十六菩薩 十六大士 (or 十六正士) The sixteen bodhisattvas;

二十八有 or (The twenty-eight forms of existence, or birth.)

二十天 (The twenty devas.)

二十智 (The twenty kinds of wisdom or knowledge as denied by Tiantai i.e. the Hīnayāna)

二百五十戒 (The 250 commandments)